guest reviews - the istana
The Istana – Uluwatu 5 bedroom clifftop villa and luxury venue The Istana – Uluwatu 5 bedroom clifftop villa and luxury venue

With its dream location high above the Indian Ocean on a Bali cliff-top, The Istana is regarded by many as the ultimate luxury villa, and has won the hearts of the world’s most discerning travellers.

‘Istana’ means palace in Indonesian, and The Istana is truly palatial in every sense: in its profuse living space, in the symmetrical elegance of its architecture, in its stunning interior design, and in the impeccable service provided by its staff. Indeed, one can be forgiven for feeling like royalty in this sublime setting where attention to detail is second to none and every wish is fulfilled.  

The views are beyond spectacular. On a clear day Bali’s necklace of volcanoes to the north are visible on the horizon, while 60 metres below, world-class surf breaks attract seasoned wave riders. The sky blazes with fiery oranges and pinks as the sun sets on a perfect day, and when darkness deepens the sea sparkles with a latticework of lights from the fishing boats of Jimbaran Bay.

It is little wonder that the Istana is one of the most sought-after wedding venues in Bali; celebrated for its cliff-top ceremonies, candlelit poolside dinners, and dance floor under the stars. Adding to the romance is the secluded master suite, which has its own private pool and is positioned well away from the four guest bedrooms in the main villa.

The space and facilities at The Istana have huge family appeal. When not cavorting in the 32-metre infinity pool, kids will be thrilled to have the run of their own special wing, where a games room is equipped with pool table, Wii and PS3, and every night is sleepover night in the four-bedded bunk room. Parents can play too – a couples’ massage at the spa perhaps, followed by sunset cocktails and a gourmet dinner to rival the best of Bali’s restaurants, capped with a Cognac and Cuban cigar.

Such is The Istana’s magic that many guests choose not to stray far. But for those few who do have the urge to explore, Suluban Beach is only a five-minute walk away, and a seven-seat chauffeur driven car is on stand-by to whisk guests across the isthmus to Seminyak or further afield into Bali’s rural and cultural heart.

The Istana
8 out of 10 based on 1 user reviews.
US$ 2470++ US$ 3945++ out of 1

Guest reviews

June 23rd, 2015 - July 2nd, 2015

“Istana was superb. The staff were the highlight ”

Geoff P, Australia

May 13th, 2015 - May 17th, 2015

“Great villa, stunning backdrop, beautiful setting. Staff and management team are super friendly, thoughtful and very accommodating. They remember the smallest details and provide very personal service. We loved our stay there and would definitely go back!”

Natasha L, Australia

April 4th, 2014 - April 9th, 2014

“Istana is one of the nicest places we have stayed at in the world. It's architecture,location,facilities, friendly staff, great food and good management ensured that our family of 14 had a wonderful holiday there to celebrate my 70th birthday. The accommodation was perfect for our group of 7 adults and 7 children.”

Rob McKinnon, Australia

October 13th, 2013 - October 16th, 2013

“Amazing villa and excellent staff. We will be back.”

Heather Johnson, Australia

September 20th, 2013 - September 25th, 2013

“We are being looked after by villa manager Wayan and his staff at their best. First class service and such a beautiful villa in beautiful location with amazing sunset view everyday, we are pleased to be spending on these qualities. We'd like to thank Wayan and his staff for their outstanding service and we will definitely go back for a visit in the future. ”

Jonathan M,

May 23rd, 2013 - May 28th, 2013

“Beautiful villa and location for wedding. Staff were wonderful, in particular organising / servicing pre-wedding arrangements (eg pressing of gowns, "rain-stopper").”

Nadya Trajanovich,

January 17th, 2013 - January 25th, 2013

“Great villa. Great location. Super staff and management. Best family holiday.”

Fadhil Alibrahim, Saudi Arabia

July 7th, 2012 - July 12th, 2012

“Stunning location and facilities. We got married at The Istana and all our guests were blown away with the place. A truly amazing villa. The staff and facilities could not have been better.”

Paul Edwards, Australia

July 2nd, 2012 - July 7th, 2012

“Seriously, this place is heaven on earth and the most magnificent location we have ever stayed at. Our wedding at The Istana was more than perfect and so beautiful. We highly recommend this villa, don't bother looking elsewhere! ”


May 11th, 2012 - May 18th, 2012

“The Istana is amazing in every regard from the first moment you take in the view to the last moment when the staff wave you goodbye. The villa is absolutely stunning. The staff are exceptionally professional, wonderfully friendly and most importantly, unobtrusive. It is a very special place for those who seek discretion and the highest standard of luxury.”

JET, Hong Kong

February 16th, 2012 - February 23rd, 2012

“Really enjoyed our stay, staff friendly and helpful, there was a real feeling of calm and relaxation, my girls rated it as one of the best holidays ever which considering where they have travelled in the past was a great compliment.Looking forward to another stay sometime in the future. ”


November 4th, 2011 - November 9th, 2011

“Thank you for making our Wedding the most memorable event in our lives. The Istana gave us the perfect play ground to create our dream wedding and an experience our guests tell us they will never forget. We cannot praise the staff enough for looking after us and being so warm and friendly. The entire stay will live with us like a dream forever. Thank you.”

Miranda Edwards, Australia

July 23rd, 2011 - July 30th, 2011

“Outstanding place to stay. Staff are great and the villa itself is amazing.”

LB, New Zealand

June 14th, 2011 - June 22nd, 2011

“The Istana is a piece of paradise in Bali! We stayed for 8 nights and there was really no need for us to leave the villa. We had beautiful bedrooms and living areas but the views were amazing, the food was great, the pool area so relaxing and the service outstanding. Why leave? Having the children's wing for 2 families was just perfect. A great place for them to play and sleep. We will be back!!”

Kate Vale, Australia