guest reviews - the istana
The Istana – Uluwatu 5 bedroom clifftop villa and luxury venue The Istana – Uluwatu 5 bedroom clifftop villa and luxury venue

With its dream location high above the Indian Ocean on a Bali cliff-top, The Istana is regarded by many as the ultimate luxury villa, and has won the hearts of the world’s most discerning travellers.

‘Istana’ means palace in Indonesian, and The Istana is truly palatial in every sense: in its profuse living space, in the symmetrical elegance of its architecture, in its stunning interior design, and in the impeccable service provided by its staff. Indeed, one can be forgiven for feeling like royalty in this sublime setting where attention to detail is second to none and every wish is fulfilled.  

The views are beyond spectacular. On a clear day Bali’s necklace of volcanoes to the north are visible on the horizon, while 60 metres below, world-class surf breaks attract seasoned wave riders. The sky blazes with fiery oranges and pinks as the sun sets on a perfect day, and when darkness deepens the sea sparkles with a latticework of lights from the fishing boats of Jimbaran Bay.

It is little wonder that the Istana is one of the most sought-after wedding venues in Bali; celebrated for its cliff-top ceremonies, candlelit poolside dinners, and dance floor under the stars. Adding to the romance is the secluded master suite, which has its own private pool and is positioned well away from the four guest bedrooms in the main villa.

The space and facilities at The Istana have huge family appeal. When not cavorting in the 32-metre infinity pool, kids will be thrilled to have the run of their own special wing, where a games room is equipped with pool table, Wii and PS3, and every night is sleepover night in the four-bedded bunk room. Parents can play too – a couples’ massage at the spa perhaps, followed by sunset cocktails and a gourmet dinner to rival the best of Bali’s restaurants, capped with a Cognac and Cuban cigar.

Such is The Istana’s magic that many guests choose not to stray far. But for those few who do have the urge to explore, Suluban Beach is only a five-minute walk away, and a seven-seat chauffeur driven car is on stand-by to whisk guests across the isthmus to Seminyak or further afield into Bali’s rural and cultural heart.

The Istana
8 out of 10 based on 1 user reviews.
US$ 2470++ US$ 3945++ out of 1

Guest reviews

June 13th, 2016 - June 16th, 2016

“Thank you so much for making our stay one we will never forget. The staff, food, and service have been fantastic. We hope to one day return. Until then, all our love and thanks.”

Alexandra C, Australia

June 10th, 2016 - June 13th, 2016

“Thanks for everything-beautiful staff, beautiful rooms, fantastic food and fantastic service. Thanks for making the wedding so memorable.”

Jessica and Chad, Australia

June 1st, 2016 - June 4th, 2016

“We had the most incredible time at The Istana. Our wedding day was perfect! The staff are so friendly and always willing to help. Big thanks to Bec for all your help while we were here.”

Alicia R, Australia

May 23rd, 2016 - May 26th, 2016

“Well, where do we even start, from the moment we checked in we have been overwhelmed with the caring and friendly nature of all the staff from the villa. You have made the lead up to the wedding an unforgettable experience. We cannot even think of words that best describe the villa, it is breathtaking and each morning we wake up we are instantly relaxed and happy. It was very hard for us to leave. The wedding was everything we ever dreamed of and more and the pictures don’t even do it justice. Thank you again for everything we will never forget this.”

Catherine And Michael, Australia

May 20th, 2016 - May 23rd, 2016

“Great accommodation! Thank you for making this wedding a special one! All staff are professional and great help.”

Edwin K, Hong Kong

May 17th, 2016 - May 20th, 2016

“It has been an absolute dream to stay here. Our wedding was beyond perfect and the best experience not only for us, but our family and friends. I can't thank you all enough for the outstanding service you have all provided. Not only a breathtaking villa but the food was amazing!! Hopefully we can come back ad re-live this experience all over again. xxxxx”

Rosemary L, Australia

May 13th, 2016 - May 16th, 2016

“I cannot thank you enough for our time here. You have all personally made this experience more unbelievable than we could ever imagined. Istana will be forever be in our memories now. Fabulous venue and staff, couldn't have asked for anything better. Many thanks.”

Georgia F, Hong Kong

May 6th, 2016 - May 9th, 2016

“Thanks very much for having us stay with you. We have really enjoyed our time here. The staff have been very friendly, helpful, and welcoming to all of us, and have made our stay here a pleasure.You are all so lovely and have made our stay like home. This is the perfect place for our wedding and we will remember this forever. We have loved every moment and have not wanted to leave, why leave paradise!! A big special thank you for your attention to detail and making all of us feel special.”

Jenny U, Indonesia

April 29th, 2016 - May 2nd, 2016

“We have prepared for this event over 14 months and dreamed about it for a lifetime. This magical event was only made possible by this amazing place, wonderful staff, and of course our LOVE! Thank you so much! We look forward to being here on our 10 year anniversary!”

Vivien N, Indonesia

April 21st, 2016 - April 29th, 2016

“Thank you for making our stay absolutely perfect! We will keep this beautiful place in beast memories and hope we will be back soon! ”

Nicole F, Singapore

April 14th, 2016 - April 19th, 2016

“Thank you for making our stay and wedding pure magic! Your attentiveness, friendliness, and personal touch really made it everything we dreamed of. Thank you and we will see you in 5 years for the reunion! Bec – stay cool!”

Sonja R, Indonesia

April 5th, 2016 - April 11th, 2016

“This has been an unforgettable week. Thank you for hosting our wedding. Quinn and I will be forever grateful for the exceptional service and hospitality. Every meal was the best we have had in Bali. We thank our friends at the Istana for going above and beyond in every single way. Fibri, Rebecca and the team are perfection!!”

Quinn S, United States

March 28th, 2016 - April 5th, 2016

“Thank you for making our stay, and our wedding, an absolute DREAM. We cannot fault your care and hospitality. And the villa is just spectacular. The most beautiful place we have ever stayed. Thank you. We cannot wait to return. Rebecca is the best!!”

Rachel C, Australia

March 2nd, 2016 - March 4th, 2016

“It was a lovely stay. Beautiful view, beautiful people and a beautiful place to stay with friends and family. Thank you.”

Sense Luxury J, China

February 12th, 2016 - February 14th, 2016

“Beautiful place to enjoy ocean view. Love it.”

Vivian M, Indonesia

February 3rd, 2016 - February 10th, 2016

“Perfect family vacation!”

Bing L, China

January 2nd, 2016 - January 10th, 2016

“Istana - blessings, music, laughter, smiles, nature, may it continue always...Amazing place full of smiles and colors. Memories that will stay with us forever. Thank you for all of you.”

Scott R, United Kingdom

December 26th, 2015 - January 2nd, 2016

“Thank you for the memorable time, we are very glad and happy about spending with you at this gorgeous place. You have been all so lovely and unique that we have felt like being home. Your service is very much kind also! The magic and the experience we got here we will forever never forget. We would like to say thank you for this memorable and just amazing stay in Bali. The food was fantastic and we hope to come back very soon.”

Yasmin G, Germany

December 19th, 2015 - December 26th, 2015

“Thank you very much for all that you have done to make our 1 week stay @ The Istana amazing. The impeccable service and the attention that you provided to us is truly appreciated. Our annual family holiday @ The Istana Bali will be unforgettable!”

Clareta L, Hong Kong

November 21st, 2015 - November 25th, 2015

“The Istana was the perfect venue for our wedding, we stayed a total of 4 nights and we would have stayed longer if we could! The staff are excellent and even helped the kids find hermit crabs on one of the afternoons! It was honestly the best trip we have ever had, and we will definitely bring the entire family back here again!”

Sally and Ryan,

November 18th, 2015 - November 21st, 2015

“Good day, good party, best pool, and perfect view. Good maintenance, occupation, and photo spot. Good place to spend our 5th wedding ceremony, good place to end our wedding marathon, with a little rain after. Laugh often, party hard. Thank you so much. Had an awesome time, and hope to be back soon. Sorry for all the fun!”

I Gusti B. Honor Satrya ., Indonesia

November 5th, 2015 - November 8th, 2015

“The past few days was like a roller coaster ride for us, due to the volcanic ashes the airport was closed and our family members & friends had trouble flying into Bali and almost couldn’t make it for our wedding. We were so worried and thankful it worked out at the end. We thank you your team for providing us a wonderful stay, took care of us for all meals and helpful on our wedding an being so kind and understanding to allow us postpone one day for our wedding so that some family and friends can attend. Thank you! You guys are awesome!”

Cynthia Lam and D, Indonesia

October 30th, 2015 - November 2nd, 2015

“Thank you Villa Istana. We have had the best few days and it made our wedding so special.”

Jessica and C, Indonesia

October 23rd, 2015 - October 26th, 2015

“Thank you for the most amazing time, you have made our stay here everything we could have ever asked for. Bec everything and anything we asked for was met & with no worries at all. We wish we could stay here forever, it has been nothing short of magical. Thank you, we will be forever grateful and hope one day we can return. Thanks x0x0.”

Katherine P, Australia

October 11th, 2015 - October 13th, 2015

“Thank you very much for all your help. Our wedding was way more than what we have ever dreamed of… in part thanks to you.! The villa is simply amazing and your smiles and service make it even more special. Thank you! We will be back soon enough and hope to see you all again! Istana villa will always have a special place in our hearts!”

Angela N, Philippines

October 8th, 2015 - October 11th, 2015

“Thank you so much for everything. We had a wonderful time here. Everything was just so amazing, from the flowers in the rooms, to the nasi goreng, the service, and your smiles. We’ll definitely recommend the villa to everyone we know, and I’m sure all the wedding guests were blown away by the beauty of this villa has to offer. So, a million thanks to you all and can’t wait to comeback in the future!”

Stephan and L, Netherlands

September 30th, 2015 - October 5th, 2015

“To all the staff who contributed to our special holiday here at The Istana. We really appreciate the amount of friendly staff who attended our very request, the level of professionalism and care was outstanding. The stay here will be unforgettable and will be talked about for many years to come! We look forward to one day coming back with our own family.”

Taylor La M, Indonesia

September 25th, 2015 - September 28th, 2015

“We would like to thank you all for making our dream wedding come true. The hospitality was truly first class and so friendly. We will definitely be back next year.”

Michelle and A, Australia

September 18th, 2015 - September 21st, 2015

“Thank you for an unforgettable stay and thank you for hosting our wedding. It was a magical experience and we look forward for many more stays here at The Istana.”

Sandra W, Indonesia

September 14th, 2015 - September 18th, 2015

“Thank you so much for looking after us all. We had such a wonderful stay. I cannot imagine anywhere else to have our wedding day. The day was made so special because of this place and because of all of you. I cannot recommend the Istana enough and we cannot wait to come and visit again, and I hope that will be soon! We certainly picked the right villa. From the bottom of our hearts.”

Verity H, Australia

September 11th, 2015 - September 14th, 2015

“Just a big thanks for making us feel at home and helping us to make our special day a 10 out of 10. You are all superstars. We loved the rooms the setting and the food. Thanks a million.”

Sarina and A, Indonesia

September 3rd, 2015 - September 7th, 2015

“You have all played a huge part in the success of our wedding. We have had the best stay ever and as many of our guests would say "a dream come true". The food was amazing - best chef indeed and even the day after you all provided with such ease, a delicious BBQ. Thank you for being so attentive to our needs. You are all 5 stars. We will definitely be back.”

Gillian X, Hong Kong

August 31st, 2015 - September 3rd, 2015

“We could not possibly thank you enough for everything that you have done to make this time for us so special for us. Everything was excellent, the food, the smiles and the perfect view and villa. Thank you for making us feel like you are celebrating our wedding with us. You helped make our dreams come true.”

Carlien and J, Indonesia

August 20th, 2015 - August 25th, 2015

“To the beautiful Istana staff!! Thank you for such an incredible stay and a magical wedding venue. The staff have exceeded all our expectations & everything has been truly perfect!! The villa is amazing we could not have wanted more…Thank you for everything we will definitely be back. Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Emma T, Australia

August 1st, 2015 - August 6th, 2015

“Stayed here with our family to celebrate our wedding and we cannot speak highly enough of your staff. The were truly amazing, always there to help out and so friendly. Bec has been outstanding and made our stay that much more enjoyable. The food is outstanding and we will be recommending it to all of our friends.”

Kieran and A, Indonesia

July 3rd, 2015 - July 20th, 2015

“Thank you for your hospitality during our stay. We still can't get enough of the Istana after our 8th year here. Thank you to all the staff that have put up with us over the years. All the food was amazing and I am sure you will be putting up with us again next year. We hope to see you all soon.”

Lynn R, Indonesia

July 2nd, 2015 - July 3rd, 2015

“Beautiful place. It has been the highlight of our honeymoon. Amazing service and staff made our stay a very great one. Thank you for a wonderful stay.”

Nicholas and Ineta H, Indonesia

June 23rd, 2015 - July 2nd, 2015

“Istana was superb. The staff were the highlight ”

Geoff P, Australia

June 19th, 2015 - June 22nd, 2015

“Its a beautiful villa with a beautiful sea view. Last nights wedding was perfect and everyone that was present will never forget the evening. Thank you to all the crew and thank you for the comfortable hospitality.”

Kacey Tang and X, Australia

June 13th, 2015 - June 16th, 2015

“Words cannot even begin to explain the experience of the past 3 days. Weddings are incredibly special at the best of times - this one was out of this world. We will never forget the fun at the Istana, Tim and I had and the memories will last a lifetime! Thank you for your professionalism, friendliness and never ending help in making all of our wedding day dreams come true. Hopefully one day we can return to this piece of paradise.”

Toula U, Australia

June 9th, 2015 - June 13th, 2015

“Justin and I would like to thank all the staff and Rebecca for being so amazing, not only for our wedding day but for our entire stay. We were made to feel so at home and every request was met - even burgers at 3am!. Rebecca you are a very special lady and one we will now call our friend. We can't wait to come back for our first wedding anniversary. Our wedding was more than we could ever dream of and mostly because of the staff leading up to and looking after our wedding day. We can't wait to see you all again.”

Justin L, Indonesia

June 4th, 2015 - June 9th, 2015

“Thank you for being involved in our perfect wedding day. We couldn't have picked a more perfect breathtaking villa to marry each other in. Hopefully one day we will be back.”

Browns ., Indonesia

May 29th, 2015 - June 2nd, 2015

“Istana Villa has been one of the best experiences of our lives. Thank you for making every second so special and a huge thanks to Beck for keeping us all in one piece.”

The Bali B, Australia

May 22nd, 2015 - May 26th, 2015

“Thank you very much for your lovely hospitality. We enjoyed every bit. Our wedding here was just amazing. We won’t forget this ever. Keep it up. We loved it.”

Patrick D, Indonesia

May 13th, 2015 - May 17th, 2015

“Great villa, stunning backdrop, beautiful setting. Staff and management team are super friendly, thoughtful and very accommodating. They remember the smallest details and provide very personal service. We loved our stay there and would definitely go back!”

Natasha L, Australia

May 9th, 2015 - May 12th, 2015

“Thank you for the great memories. We had a wonderful experience here and everything was perfect. Fantastic service, great food, awesome view of the ocean. Hope to come back again soon.”

Geneva Tan and T, Indonesia

May 1st, 2015 - May 4th, 2015

“Such a great job! You have made us feel like kings and queens, princes and princesses. We have had a great time enjoying the Balinese hospitality, smiling faces, always there for us. Thank you for an incredible vacation.”

Dan N, Singapore

April 24th, 2015 - April 27th, 2015

“Thank you a million times for hosting us here at the Istana - the most amazing place we have ever stayed. We had the most incredible wedding here - the view at the villa, the staff, everything was perfect!! To Rebecca, you were a dream come true. You have made our stay and our wedding day so easy. Your warmth and "can do' attitude is something you should be proud of. What a god sent you are. To the villa staff - You guys are all amazing! What absolute professionals. The Istana will always hold a very special place in our heart.”

Skye F, Indonesia

April 13th, 2015 - April 19th, 2015

“An amazing villa. We didn't want to leave it at any stage during our stay and also wonderful staff! We were all looked after so well, thank you to everyone here and a sad goodbye. Many thanks.”

George P, United Kingdom

April 4th, 2015 - April 9th, 2015

“Simply wow. Thank you for an incredible stay. Worth every cent! Our family (a group of 10) enjoyed every room and found every staff member excellent. We had our wedding at the villa and it was also excellent! The chef cooked great meals. Rebecca and Wayan were amazing and attended to all our needs. We will be back! Thank you.”

Kim S, Indonesia

April 4th, 2014 - April 9th, 2014

“Istana is one of the nicest places we have stayed at in the world. It's architecture,location,facilities, friendly staff, great food and good management ensured that our family of 14 had a wonderful holiday there to celebrate my 70th birthday. The accommodation was perfect for our group of 7 adults and 7 children.”

Rob McKinnon, Australia

October 13th, 2013 - October 16th, 2013

“Amazing villa and excellent staff. We will be back.”

Heather Johnson, Australia

September 20th, 2013 - September 25th, 2013

“We are being looked after by villa manager Wayan and his staff at their best. First class service and such a beautiful villa in beautiful location with amazing sunset view everyday, we are pleased to be spending on these qualities. We'd like to thank Wayan and his staff for their outstanding service and we will definitely go back for a visit in the future. ”

Jonathan M,

May 23rd, 2013 - May 28th, 2013

“Beautiful villa and location for wedding. Staff were wonderful, in particular organising / servicing pre-wedding arrangements (eg pressing of gowns, "rain-stopper").”

Nadya Trajanovich,

January 17th, 2013 - January 25th, 2013

“Great villa. Great location. Super staff and management. Best family holiday.”

Fadhil Alibrahim, Saudi Arabia

July 7th, 2012 - July 12th, 2012

“Stunning location and facilities. We got married at The Istana and all our guests were blown away with the place. A truly amazing villa. The staff and facilities could not have been better.”

Paul Edwards, Australia

July 2nd, 2012 - July 7th, 2012

“Seriously, this place is heaven on earth and the most magnificent location we have ever stayed at. Our wedding at The Istana was more than perfect and so beautiful. We highly recommend this villa, don't bother looking elsewhere! ”

BM

May 11th, 2012 - May 18th, 2012

“The Istana is amazing in every regard from the first moment you take in the view to the last moment when the staff wave you goodbye. The villa is absolutely stunning. The staff are exceptionally professional, wonderfully friendly and most importantly, unobtrusive. It is a very special place for those who seek discretion and the highest standard of luxury.”

JET, Hong Kong

February 16th, 2012 - February 23rd, 2012

“Really enjoyed our stay, staff friendly and helpful, there was a real feeling of calm and relaxation, my girls rated it as one of the best holidays ever which considering where they have travelled in the past was a great compliment.Looking forward to another stay sometime in the future. ”

LS

November 4th, 2011 - November 9th, 2011

“Thank you for making our Wedding the most memorable event in our lives. The Istana gave us the perfect play ground to create our dream wedding and an experience our guests tell us they will never forget. We cannot praise the staff enough for looking after us and being so warm and friendly. The entire stay will live with us like a dream forever. Thank you.”

Miranda Edwards, Australia

July 23rd, 2011 - July 30th, 2011

“Outstanding place to stay. Staff are great and the villa itself is amazing.”

LB, New Zealand

June 14th, 2011 - June 22nd, 2011

“The Istana is a piece of paradise in Bali! We stayed for 8 nights and there was really no need for us to leave the villa. We had beautiful bedrooms and living areas but the views were amazing, the food was great, the pool area so relaxing and the service outstanding. Why leave? Having the children's wing for 2 families was just perfect. A great place for them to play and sleep. We will be back!!”

Kate Vale, Australia